Aloof

Left crumpled, I sit alone,
Not quiet alone,
Just silent riot alone.
I try to think something
That feels better than this,
It doesn’t have to be good,
Just better than this.
But my mind just plays tricks
And it’s so good with its traps,
So I think of nothing,
But that’s something
I guess.

a.l.c

3 Replies to “Aloof”

  1. 😦 I can understand that feeling.

    “I try to think something
    That feels better than this,
    It doesn’t have to be good,
    Just better than this.”

    It’s like being in the in-between with that feeling. Any feeling would be better than pure isolation and loneliness; that alone can feel like a void itself, it just is draining. This is a very evocative poem to me and it’s beautifully penned. Very visceral as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.